The First Day of School

8 Sep

Today is the start of a new era. For the first time, all of my kids will be in school full-time. Two years ago, when my youngest started Kindergarten, my oldest took a break from public school to be homeschooled, so I am a bit behind in this kids in school all day thing. For the record, I love summer vacation and having them all to myself, but after nearly three months of home all the time, they need to get away from each other and they need a bigger audience than just me.

I will walk my youngest to the elementary school at 8:15 and then, until about 2:30 when the older two get off the bus, I will have six whole hours in which:

Nobody interrupts me mid-conversation screaming, “Mommy!”

I can go grocery shopping alone.

Nobody asks me to look at a stuffed animal, a Bionicle, a Youtube video, or an invisible injury fifty times a day.

If I decide to go somewhere, I don’t have to ask thirteen times for everyone to get ready.

I can come home after working all night and sleep, without guilt, and without waking up to my house trashed.

I will have time to do yoga, go kayaking, eat lunch by myself, clean my house, and make dinner.

Nobody needs my attention, immediately, the second I walk into the bathroom.

I don’t have to utter the words, “keep your hands to yourself,” “stop being mean,” “why did you hit him,” “how many times have I asked you to…” or “nobody wants to see your penis.”

If I want to, I can spend the entire day speaking to only my dog and chickens.

I have no illusions that the one hour getting everybody ready and out the door, and the several hours in the afternoon with homework, endless snacks, and end of the day exhaustion-fueled drama won’t make up for my six hours, but for those six hours, I will have me time. And by me time, I mean cooking, cleaning, working, sleeping, and checking the numerous items off my to-do list that I haven’t gotten to all summer.

Leave a comment